Fairfield County Spring Team Tournament


Twelve teams competed this Saturday in our first ever open team tournament. The tournament featured no less than eight masters and eight experts. Six of the teams had an average rating over 1950. After the four rounds of play it was the team ‘The Price is Right’ led by FM Nelson Castaneda, along with Alan Price, William Torres and Ariel Martinez that took sole first place. ‘No Draws Accepted’ with NM Arslan Otchiyev, Raffaello Piccoli, Garrett Browning and Melvin Patrick won second place.

Because of the good turnout the prizes were increased. 1st place was increased by $100 to $400, 2nd place by $50 to $250 and a special $100 U1600 class prize was added. Team ‘Kids Rock’, with Anna Argulian, Matthew Hochberg, Dylan Young and Vincent Xu won the U1600 prize. There were also many notable individual results. NM Arslan Otchiyev, William Torres and Matthew Faille all scored perfect 4/4 scores! James Nitz’s undefeated run was enough to earn him the National Master title! Carl Scovens scored the biggest upset of the tournament, defeating Alan Price who was rated over 800 points higher!